Vinter's?? Brewers??? Drunkards???

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Jagger, Jun 19, 2004.

1. Jagger

Jagger Well-Known Member

How many of you are brewers or vinter's???

I make a little wine myself. I have brewed a little beer in the past. I had decent succes, but i am no expert. I liked the taste of the brew, but a few of my buddies at the time did not. It was labed with a skull and cross bones. I drank most of the bottles. I like a dark, heavy, earthy, beer. Does anyone make beer? Do any of you grow your own hops? I like to make wild fruit wines. Mainly blackberry, elderberry, mulberry(my most recent addition) as well as a few others. What kind of wine do you like to make? Receipe's please? I also will make apple wine or hard cider in the fall. I am interested in the process of turning grain into alcohol. Is there anyone on here to get me going? I have read in the past from a volume of Foxfire on the process of moonshining. I would like to know more. I am also would like to know the process of making brandy.?. Anyone know of this? I used to enjoy a drink made from honey. It was Honey Mead. I will dig up the receipe and post it.I and several others use to consume lots of this at S.C.A events, as well as some Civil War battles. I was always a big hit. Sometimes adults would drink it thinking it did not have alcohol or at least very little. They would drink a glass then another then another. I guess you can figure out what happened from there. It is a wonderful low alcohol content drink. Bleive me me it will give you a buzz after a few tankards full. It is like ambrosia. Fruit of the gods. All you bee keepers ought to take notice. What other kind of drinks do you all enjoy?