Venomous Snake Bites Poll

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Tango, Aug 11, 2005.

Have you or has someone you personally know, beenbitten by a venomous snake?

1. Yes, I received a dry bite.

2. Yes, I recieved a venom bite.

3. Yes, someone I personally know received a dry bite.

4. Yes, someone I personally know received a venom bite and was fine afterward.

5. Yes, I was seriously maimed by a venomous snake.

6. Yes, someone I personally know was killed or maimed by a venom bite.

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

This is a curiousity thing for me as I am an amateur herpetologist. When it comes to snakes there are so many people who experience panic or fear and when it comes to venomous snakes the numbers sky rocket. My personal experience with venomous snakes is that they give dry bites (bite without injecting venom) and may prefer dry biting (from my readings) when they are not startled. Venomous snakes use their venom for capturing prey. They need it to eat so wasting it is not ecologically smart. They do inject venom if startled, I would think, there is no time in those situiations to assess the target. It is impossible for a study to adequately cover the number of dry bites as opposed to numbers of venom bites because people who are dry bitten don't go to the hospital necessarily, people who are bitten can't always positively identify their bite as onefrom a known venomous snake, emergency personnel can't alays find the snake in question etc. I would like to see if there are people here with personal experience in this. I have been bitten twice by pygmy rattlesnakes. Both times were dry bites and both times were provoked by me because I was relocating them from my back porch to more appropriate habitat. I also have personal friends who have been bitten with venom from dangerous snakes they kept in secure housing (mambas and cobras for instance). Have you, or has someone y