Veggie Garden Newbie - Looking for Website/Info?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Honeybee, Apr 16, 2004.

1. Honeybee

Honeybee Well-Known Member

Hi,

I am a real REAL garden newbie. And I don't have the greenest of thumbs either but I want to grow a veggie garden so badly!!! I tried last year and the neighbors cows ran through the middle of it and destroyed it all about a week after I got the seeds in.

I am going to try again this year and I was hoping someone might know of a site that tells you what to plant next to what? Or at least what not to plant next to what ;)

Does anyone know of a website like that? I've been unable to find one. My neighbor plowed the ground up for me, I've got about 25 x 80 to work with outside but don't really have room for starting seeds inside. Is that a real problem?

Thanks for looking, God bless,

Honeybee

2. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter

what type of plant is a veggie that must be a new type of plant i know what VEGTABLES are and FLOWERS but never heard of a veggie?

3. Fla Gal

Fla Gal Bunny Poo Monger Supporter

James,

I found this definition of "veggie" at http://dictionary.reference.com/

veggie

n : edible seeds or roots or stems or leaves or bulbs or tubers or nonsweet fruits of any of numerous herbaceous plant [syn: vegetable]

Source: WordNet ® 1.6, © 1997 Princeton University

Honeybee,

You'll have better luck with your searches by googling for 'Companion Planting Guide' and/or 'Companion Planting Chart'. These two phrases bring up a lot of information. Good luck with your new garden.

4. My my James, did we get up on the wrong side of the bed this morning?? Maybe you should go back and start over.
    Most of us "---------" are smart enough to know what a veggy is. Not all but most. Why not look it up??? You may learn SOMETHING.
    Don't go picking on others, your on the wrong board for that
    john#4.

5. Honeybee

Honeybee Well-Known Member