Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am breeding my does for the first time this year and I just did yearly vaccines. I also read that I should vaccinate the does 30 days before kidding is this mainly to protect the kids when born?

·
Registered
585 Posts
I have never heard of vaccinating goats while they are pregnant. Usually, what you do is deworm them and vaccinate them the day after they kid, but I'm not very experienced either so I'm not quite sure.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Yes from what I understand it is to protect the kids - if you give the CDT at thirty days before kidding, the kids will be born with protection. Everybody does it differently though.

·
Super Moderator
12,837 Posts
They are not BORN with protection as antibodies to not cross the placenta in ruminants. However, there will be a boost in passive immunity via the colostrum, so long as you get an adequate amount of quality colostrum in the kids before the antibody transport receptors are degraded (12-24hrs... sooner the better!) There are far, far more antibodies in colostrum than just the induced antibodies from vaccination.

I do pre-kidding and pre-breeding work on does. The pre-kidding is about 4 weeks before kids are born. I do BoSe, Copper, vaccinate, and evaluate body condition, eye membranes, and trim hooves if needed. 4-6 weeks pre kidding it's also important to increase the quality of their forages/hay, and I personally start them on a grain ration as well.

·
Super Moderator
12,837 Posts