Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie in France.
I started to learn to spin the fleece from our sheep this year because I had to pay to have them sheared for the first time........ouch!
(MoH had a back problem and couldn't help shear)
As it cost a lot, and was professionally done (not short, back, and whichever bits we could get to) I thought I'd have a go at spinning my own.
So far so good....................... I'm getting there............ although my wool does have bumps and bits........... and I'm knitting a couple of scarves as presents for Christmas at the mo.

Getting to my questions, at last............ my sister-in-law has given me a couple of pincushions that I'm going to copy and make for a Christmas bazaar and I recently read somewhere on the internet that you can stuff pincushions with fleece. As I have such a lot of bitty fleece and lumpy stuff that won't card well (thinking of using it to felt weed matting also!) I'm wondering if it will work well for stuffing.

Anyone tried this. or have any suggestions please?

·
Fiber Arts forum Mod.
11,519 Posts
ChilliGilly welcome to The Fold! Are you in France the country? how exciting and exotic. My step sister lives there and loves it.

Anyway, Wool makes a great stuffing. Ive used scrap wool to stuff toys and all sorts of things. Pack it in there really tight. What breed of sheep do you have?

Lumpy bumpy yarn isn't a bad thing. It is pretty typical of most beginner yarn or art yarn. it could be that way for a zillion different reasons. If you want yarn so "perfect" it looks store bought, you may just have to buy store bought :) Just don't beat yourself up over it. People will treasure what you make for them because you put in the time and effort and cared enough about them to make them such a thoughtful gift.

Please post pictures of your sheepies and your yarn and projects. we love to Ooooo! and Aaahhhhhh! over people's things.