using up and not buying more...

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Deb&Al, Mar 8, 2005.

1. Deb&Al

Deb&Al Well-Known Member

there's a similar thread here about having a chemical free kitchen. I have been working on that concept for a few years. regarding the food purity situation, i have supplies that would enable me to not have to buy a particular item for several months, if not a year in some instances.

for instance, after christmas when all the baking stuff that crowds the grocery aisles is sometimes on sale, i will purchase for stocking up. for example, i have three, 16-oz packages of hershey's chocolate chips in the freezer. i haven't bought any since after thanksgiving.

well, i looked at the label and saw that it's made with vanillin, not vanilla. there has been talk on this board and a couple of whole food cookery sites i visit where there's been talk of companies moving to cheaper ingredients to make better profits, etc.

i really try to subscribe to a whole foods approach to cooking, but i find that as time goes on, my range of products becomes smaller and smaller. we pretty much have the vegetables/fruit/meat thing handled pretty well at our house, as we grow/raise and trade/purchase these things ourselves.

but, there are some items, like chocolate chips, that i can see myself not having access to, because of personal preference.

the other thing i've given up is jello brand jello. i have a book about additives in foods, and you can look up anything on a label and see what it is and if it has been banned in other countries, etc, and except for visual/eye appeal, why do we have to have colors added to our food, when our bodies weren't made to digest/dispose of these kinds of chemicals? (i know, that's a rhetorical question. :) )