Used motor oil mixed w/diesel

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by mohillbilly, May 10, 2006.

1. mohillbilly

mohillbilly Well-Known Member

Anyone out there ever try mixing used motor oil and diesel?

I have been doing it now for about 2 months. In the past I have always added about 1 quart of trnny fluid at every fill up to help lubricate the injector pump.

So, i figured i would try used motor oil. I am pumping it out of a used oil tank at my maint. shop. It is filtered 3 times and left to settle for about1 week before it is drawn from the barrel and put into the fuel tank.

I started with about 10% oil then moved up to what is now about 35-40% mixed in with the fuel. The ol truck runs fine with it so far. (84 ranger with 2.2 diesel) It does smoke a little more than usual now however!!!!!! But I knew it would so no big deal to me. So far the advantages i have seen are slightly more power and about 10% increase in fuel mileage! Plus, its FREE! every gallon of free oil is good for about 33 miles!

Anyway, what my question to yall is this, Does anyone know if there could be any long or short term effects that are detrimental to the engine?? burnt valves, injectors, pump,etc..........

So far I have not noticed anything out of the ordinary in day to day operation of the truck, Just a little harder to light off in the cooler mornings, but that is to be expected.....

2. Gideon

Gideon Well-Known Member

Can see no harm IF and big IF you do filter it vey well. In cold climes you might want to use pure kerosene and a bit of oil(for the injector pump's lube). A worn engine would probably use it better than a brand spanking new one. Some folks are using cooking oil mixed with the fuel. It will burn by itself but cranking might be a problem. Our old USMC multifuel engines would burn any thing that you could light with a match. Glad to see folks saving $$$s and fuel by mixing, Gideon

3. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter