Ugh, neighbors again

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Tango, Jun 8, 2005.

1. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

Suddenly my neighbors want to come over to talk. I am a full time writer now- spend a lot of time on the net to ease the brain but I'm used to that loophole. Suddenly new neighbors and old neighbors are coming over unannounced and interfering with my schedule. They don't mean to be a pain, but they are. How can someone move to the country and butt in to someone else's life? We didn't all move to the country to be social. My next house will be in the woods and there won't be a way to get people at the door unless they can maneuver around my bulldog and catahoula and 1500 ft of distance between driveway and front door. I don't need to tell these neighbors "STOP! " since I only have a couple of weeks here but imo if one lives in the country, one should respect his/her neighbor's time. I want to be neighborly but PLEASE! These visits are almost daily and at my peak writing moments. I've thought of not answering the door but by the time my dogs are quiet my concentration is blown anyway. :bash:

2. fordy

fordy Well-Known Member

................Fences and Gates!! But , for the Long run you should accept these friendly folks as someday you may get snakebit and need a Ride to the emergency room . Being a creative person , I would post a Nice sign at the entry of my driveway that Lists something like......."Creative Genius at Work"
    .....................................................................Thinking....."9am to 5pm"
    ....................................................Coffee and Conversation...>after 5pm , thanks ...Tango , fordy... :)

3. QBVII

QBVII Well-Known Member

Yes, I read somewhere about a couple who had a "system" to let people know if they were receiving guests...something like a light on a post, and a sign beneath: "If the light is on, we're receiving guests....if not, we are busy and hope to see you again......."