Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,477 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So we're getting a German Shepherd pup tomorrow (unexpected gift). :sing:

We've a few larger dogs in the past, but, as with our small dogs, we made fluffy fur babies out of them all.

With this one, we want him to be a working/guard dog, but I have no experience with this type of training. What I'd "like" him to do is stay within our property boundaries (not fenced), sit/stay/come on command, and, in general, "protect and serve"...and still be able to scratch him behind the ears and give him a good belly scratch on occasion without fear of losing a hand?

I realize that sounds like I want a fluffy fur baby commando, but that's not the case...I want him to guard/protect, but be friendly to us and the few family members who'll come in contact with him.

Can anyone direct me to some good info online to help me with this?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
10,405 Posts
Years ago in my youth I actually raised purebred German Shepherds (short-haired). Each pup will take on habits their owners allow. This means the "breed" itself is not something to be concerned about. It means your own energy is what you need to attend to in training.

A GS can be trained to be a house dog, a general guard dog and even a livestock guardian. It simply depends on whether or not you are willing to put in the efforts required for your pup to maintain its self-confidence while being trained in obedience.

The one major thing you must not do is praise your dog for unwanted behavior; and many dog owners do just that, i.e. they actually pet/nurture their dog when it is acting badly, thinking such will calm the dog down. It doesn't calm that dog. It simply tells that dog the bad behavior you just witnessed is exactly what he gets nurtured for. So knowing (and controlling) yourself is just as important as knowing and controlling your dog.