Tractor Questions

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Torch, Jul 22, 2004.

1. Torch

Torch Well-Known Member

In the piney woods of the great state of Texas.
    Maybe this should be titled, "Adventures in tractor ownership". I'm new to the tractor world so please excuse the stupid n00b questions.

I purchased 9 acres last month and the seller threw in a Yanmar 186 tractor. It is a 3 cylinder 18 hp diesel compact tractor made for the American market in the '80s. It has 580 hours on it (or is it 1580? or 2580? ...)

The day before yesterday I was out clearing some brush with the hog. In places, this stuff is THICK and HIGH. Impossible to walk through without a machete and even if you managed to get through it you'd have a serious case of the itches due to the poison ivy.

So there I was moving along in 1st gear with the transfer in HIGH. I'm guessing I was going about 5 - 7 mph. Well, it turns out that right in the middle of one of these patches is a stump about 18 inches high, totally camouflaged by all the vines and such. My left front tire hits it dead center and rather than just stop the tractor the tractor decides to climb the stump. Tractor starts tipping over so I bail. I have no intentions of being anywhere near that sucker when it is not upright.

Once the tractor and I both come to a stop the tractor is on it's right side. The bush hog is also on it's side. The tractor is still running spitting oil out of a hose that I never even noticed before that is next to the filter. The only way for me to shut it down was to reach under it and shut off the pitcock valve. It probably ran about 5 minutes on it's side before I was able to shut her down.

A come-along and some 3/16 inch cable attached to the nearest tree did the trick of uprighting the tractor. Time to assess the damage. Believe it or not the damage seems to be very minor. After putting oil and fuel back in she cranked right up.