Total noob question about the logistics of HOW you sell 1/2 or 1/4 hogs

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by pigsinwigs, Feb 10, 2018.

1. pigsinwigs

pigsinwigs Member

Hi All

Before I get going, let me say off the bat that this is a dumb question by a total noob. Please bear in mind. I tried the search function to find an answer but a search is only as good as the keywords put in, and I'm not sure I even know how to express it.

Basically, while we hope to someday be producing enough woodland-raised pork to justify taking it to a USDA facility so we can sell retail, right now we have only a handful of pigs and all the processors within a 90-minute drive are custom -- i.e., the only way to sell it is sell the live animal to someone, and they have to place the order with the processor, select the cuts, etc.

So if that's the case -- how do you sell just a portion of a pig? I understand that multiple people may own parts of the live pig. And each person will need to do their own cut sheet. But, does the farmer coordinate these and haul the animal to the processor? I'm assuming so, since we can't expect the customer to haul half a pig or whatever (although this would presumable save the kill fee, lol). Is the farmer, in general, scheduling the arrival of the pig with the individual customer submitting their own cut sheet? Can the farmer receive the cut sheet for each customer and submit all the info at the same time? I get the impression from my reading that this would not be legal, but if it's not then I just have no idea how people organize it.

I guess I'm just looking for a good description of how people are managing this process when a hog has two or three or maybe even four different owners. Either links or your own words. I realize that laws may vary between states, so that's another layer complexity, but hopefully there are commonalities that apply to all of us in US. (I am in Michigan for what it's worth.)