Too many breeds: which one?

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by canine14, Jun 25, 2006.

1. canine14

canine14 Well-Known Member

Hi there,

I am a new hobby farmer and am seriously interested in getting sheep. I primarily want the sheep for wool, but I would possibly also like to milk them. I am confused as to which breed would be best. I am looking for a docile, easy first-time-shepherd breed that is hardy because the climate here in Ontario, CAN can be harsh in the winters.

I have read all of the breed profiles but am still confused. For example, East Friesians are good for dairy but not as great for wool and Shetlands are good for wool but are not really milkers.

Any reccomendations? Again, I am mostly interested right now in wool and fun, friendly sheep (until I am a bit more experienced).

Also, does it matter if the sheep are registered or not?

Thanks.

2. YuccaFlatsRanch

YuccaFlatsRanch Well-Known Member Supporter

3. Suemo

Suemo Well-Known Member

Essentially, you can milk ANY sheep you put your hand to... I have seen too many "milk" type sheep that milk less than the Suffolks I have! I would suggest that you pick a breed you are happy with for fleece... It depends on what you enjoy spinning... Whether longwools like Leicester, medium wools like Cheviot or Columbia, or a finewool like Rambouillett or Merino. Most any breed will thrive in cold climate. Mud and extreme tempurature changes happen to be a sheep's worst enemy.
    Once you pick out the breed you want, then pick out a few mature ewes that have weaned out heavy twins or triplets. I bet they'll milk better than most East Fresians that you find!
    Autumn

4. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter