Tomatoes --- are you still picking?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by countrygrrrl, Sep 19, 2004.

1. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

I'm having a hard time believing it, but I'm still picking mountains of tomatoes.

I wish I would have had the good sense to weigh --- I'd love to know how much I've gotten so far this year. Or maybe it's just that I've been picking continuously for several weeks now, and they're still coming.

I am VERY pleased --- this is my first time growing heirlooms (I think :rolleyes: :D ) --- and they've ended up being much more productive than any other tomato I've ever grown.

I also did kind of intensive planting --- lots of plants in a small space --- and wasn't sure how it would work --- but it's been great.

Is anyone else still picking tomatoes? :)

2. katydidagain

katydidagain Adventuress--Definition 2 Supporter

Yes I'm still picking but didn't have one ripe San Marzano until 8/29 from 8 plants started late May--had a few grapes from volunteers before that. Been drying nearly everything and have a gallon bag full. What does that equal "wet" in pounds?

The supermarket "cluster" tomato seeds I planted around July 4th are producing clusters on all but 1 plant. Fruits aren't as big as "mama" but it's a cool year and they're still quite green; I plan to trial them again with an earlier start.

katy

3. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

I wish i could remember exactly when I started picking this year. I do know it was a slow start because the summer was so cool --- and I just don't quite remember ever picking for this long.

The gallon bag = a whole lot! :)

4. mistletoad

mistletoad Well-Known Member Supporter

We are still picking from plants that produced their first ripe tomatoes in June! Romas are supposed to be determinates, but I guess no one told them that.

5. margo

margo Well-Known Member