Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,971 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still pretty new to gardening and was wondering if someone could help me out.

~What is the best way to cage tomatoes?

Last year we had the regular wire cages which ended up getting top heavy and falling down even with supports. We forego the cages this year which I think was a mistake because things aren't ripening as soon as I would think and the plants have taken up alot of room spreading out.

~Are there certain types of tomatoes that require caging and some that don't?

~Can someone point me in the right direction for information on the different types of tomato plants?

~What have you found to be a most effective way to support the plants?

I would sure appreciate any help you could give me :)

·
Can't stop thinkin'
1,267 Posts
I'm no gardening expert; still learning myself! But one thing I came across and used this summer with pretty good results is the wire stands that wreaths go on at funerals and cemetaries. It sounds kinda morbid and all, but I know a grounds keeper and all they do with them is toss them in the trash when the flowers die. He saved a couple dozen for me. They are triangular shape and I position them over the plant and depending on how the plant is growing I use a twistie tie to attach it to the stand. Don't tie the twistie too tight as you want your plant to have freedom of some movement, but the tie will kep it close to the stand. Hope that helps some; and best of all they are free...

·
Nohoa Homestead
5,398 Posts
Tirzah said:
I am still pretty new to gardening and was wondering if someone could help me out.

~What is the best way to cage tomatoes?

Last year we had the regular wire cages which ended up getting top heavy and falling down even with supports. We forego the cages this year which I think was a mistake because things aren't ripening as soon as I would think and the plants have taken up alot of room spreading out.