Tip on Cleaning Paper Water Filters

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Ken Scharabok, Feb 16, 2004.

1. Ken Scharabok

Ken Scharabok In Remembrance

I get my water directly from a spring. After heavy rains the grit flushed out of the vein will clog my paper filter in a couple of days. They are not meant to be cleaned and reused, but I do. I put the dirty one in a sock and wash it with a load of laundry, then air dry it. I have been using the same two filters for about two years now. I assume this would work with the more substantial types of filters also.

Ken S. in WC TN

2. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter

Ken, have you considered placing the pipe at the spring inside one of the perforated corrugated septic drain field pipes that has the "sock" on it? The corrugated pipe needs to buried under sand at the spring.

3. Ken Scharabok

Washing the filters is a lot easier solution.

Ken

4. joan from zone six

joan from zone six Well-Known Member

yeah - and if you did use a pipe with a sock on it, you'd end up washing your socks

5. Michael W. Smith

Michael W. Smith Well-Known Member

Ok, Ken, what did I do wrong? I thought I would take your advice since I had 8 used water filters. I put them in a sock, put them in the washer (all 8 filters, no clothes) and added a little bleach. It wasn't very long before my wife & I heard a squealing coming from the washer and she went running to it. I knew there was problems when I heard "Oh no!" Smoke was coming from the washer which we now think was the belt slipping from the filters being too heavy in the washer to push around. Wife is not happy with me, but washer still seems to work.
    I wait a while and then put 4 filters in and let it wash them. All went well until they were done spinning and before they rinsed I thought I would take a look and see how things were going. As soon as I opened the lid to the washer, I knew something was amiss when I saw black all through the washer. "Uh oh!"