Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I actually lived in Mr. Roger's neighborhood. He lived across the street from me in a nice mansion in Pittsburgh from 6th to 8th grade when I lived in the second floor apt of an older mansion divided into 4 apartments. When he met my friends on the street (I never saw him in person myself) he was polite and kind even when the older hoodlums said something trying to be rude.

I probably watched his show the most of anything- as a young child than as a mocking teen with younger siblings watching it. The epitome of kindness and niceness and don't be afraid. Telling kids not to worry that they might get sucked into the bathtub drain when it's emptying (think he was a granddad by then).

He was a Presb. minister by degree and a TV music type by trade. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_Rogers
Noone in Pittsburgh (that I know of) has anything bad to say about him. THis past year NPR played a blurb from him where he said "I would say to adults who remember my show just what I said to them as children: I like you just the way you are." Guess it reflects more me and my mental state that day than him but I had to pull over from driving and have a good cry.

Fred Rogers was a grand wonderful man and the world is a better place for his time on it, and I miss him.

·
Premium Member
3,582 Posts
When I was a little girl, growing up in a dysfunctional home, I wished with all my heart that Fred Rogers was my dad. As an adult I sobbed when I heard he had died.

Thank you Mean Dean!
God bless you and yours
Deb

·
Original recipe!
14,044 Posts
When I was a teenager a friend brought to school a Playgirl that had Fred Rogers in it.. it was a good article and, though he wasn't naked, it did have him at his weight bench in a Speedo type bathing suit:) And nothing else. It was awesome!
It was the issue with Ted Nugent in it I think.