The New Poulan Saws

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Oxankle, Mar 25, 2006.

1. Oxankle

Oxankle Well-Known Member

Don't tell me that Poulans are no good; I know they are not top of the line, but my almost new $300 Husky was stolen and I am not about to serve them another. If they steal, they get Poulan!

Anyway, what I have is a 40cc Poulan with an l8 inch bar, but the bar is one of those narrow ones not over 4 inches wide. It cuts like a dream, has enough power to suit the chain, but I cannot keep the chain on the bar.

No matter how tightly I adjust the chain, the least pinch or twist and the chain jumps off the sprocket nose. It is a pain in the butt--I am cutting brush, anything from 2 inches on up to l5 or 20 inches, and can hardly work a quarter hour without the darn thing jumping off. Plenty of oil, and the oiler is working just fine, throwing oil like a champion.

Anyone else have this experience?
    Ox

2. Janon

Janon 993cc Geo Metro

I'm no chainsaw expert - aside from damage to the saw (bent, warped, worn)... perhaps the bar is flexing enough to throw things out of alignment. Chain jumping and Poulan saws appears to be quite common, especially when cutting small diameter stuff.

cheers,

3. dennisjp

dennisjp dennisjp

I have a poulan 2300 that is a little smaller than yours. I have the same problem with it to. It is getting on my nerves fast. Faster than I can cut wood with it. Seldom do I use a tank of gas before I have the wrench and screw driver out again, if I can find them. If I put them in my pocket they drop out and it's hard to find somewhere to lay them down when you are throwing sawdust everywhere. I made a little pouch and tied it to my gas and oil tank and haven't lost one yet. And the chain tighens up when you get it to tight trying to keep it on and then just stops turning. It is sure to be the last Polan I'll ever buy.

4. BrahmaMama

BrahmaMama Well-Known Member