Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm part owner of a house and, due to a number of circumstances, have decided to sell my share.

I've been poring over everything for several months now and can find no indication that I am required by law NOT to sell without the other owner's consent or to only sell to someone upon their approval. And unfortunately, due to the circumstances of what's going on, I am likely going to have to sell w/o the approval of the other owner and am anticipating the likely buyer will be a bank or real estate type venture.

I'm curious if others have done this --- that is, sold their share in a house to *strangers*. If so, let me know your experiences and advice.

·
Registered
441 Posts
Different states have different laws, so I don't know what the rule is in your area.

As a practical matter, though, it rarely happens. There are too many things that co-owners of property need to work together on--payment of real estate taxes, handling of rents, etc.

I did have a client once ask about buying into that situation, and I advised him to run like the wind. I'd be surprised if you found a buyer. Maybe you will, though, if you offer a substantial discount.

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
JulieNC said:
I did have a client once ask about buying into that situation, and I advised him to run like the wind. I'd be surprised if you found a buyer. Maybe you will, though, if you offer a substantial discount.
Thanks. That's my concern, as well, but something needs to happen soon.

·
Registered
441 Posts
As yucky as it sounds, you may want to check into a partition suit. When people own property as co-tenants, they each own an undivided interest in the property. So, for example, if two siblings owned a house as tenants in common, they'd each have a right to live in the house, which could be problematic (to say the least).