Tenancy in common

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by countrygrrrl, Aug 1, 2004.

1. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

I'm part owner of a house and, due to a number of circumstances, have decided to sell my share.

I've been poring over everything for several months now and can find no indication that I am required by law NOT to sell without the other owner's consent or to only sell to someone upon their approval. And unfortunately, due to the circumstances of what's going on, I am likely going to have to sell w/o the approval of the other owner and am anticipating the likely buyer will be a bank or real estate type venture.

I'm curious if others have done this --- that is, sold their share in a house to *strangers*. If so, let me know your experiences and advice.

2. JulieNC

JulieNC Well-Known Member

Different states have different laws, so I don't know what the rule is in your area.

As a practical matter, though, it rarely happens. There are too many things that co-owners of property need to work together on--payment of real estate taxes, handling of rents, etc.

I did have a client once ask about buying into that situation, and I advised him to run like the wind. I'd be surprised if you found a buyer. Maybe you will, though, if you offer a substantial discount.

3. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

Thanks. That's my concern, as well, but something needs to happen soon.

4. JulieNC

As yucky as it sounds, you may want to check into a partition suit. When people own property as co-tenants, they each own an undivided interest in the property. So, for example, if two siblings owned a house as tenants in common, they'd each have a right to live in the house, which could be problematic (to say the least).