Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im 17 And I want to homestead in Alaska. I already in a way have a urban homestead I have been growing fruits and vegtables for the past 4+ years so I could say for my area and climate I have a good greenthumb. Aprox. 8 months ago I got chickens for eggs and have had them ever since. I just recently bought 6 cornish rocks from tractor supply for meat And for the experince and knowledge of taking a animals life for more than fun or protection (which ive never done fyi I dont come from a homesteading family or hunting family). I started homeschooling so I could focus more on what I want to do and be more self taught in real life things, I still get a full high school diploma if your wondering. My biggest problem is money I solve this by selling on ebay you might be saying well your not going to make any money doing that get a job! Oh but contraire On a normal basis since im homeschooled I can just hop in my car and go to swap meets, yard sales, estate sales, etc. and buy and resell. and I can make on average $2000-$4000 a month. but that doesnt include ebay fees shipping and cost of buying items gas and so on. I also have 2 other little work jobs that make $200 a month. But that still isnt enough tbh its a good start but not nearly enough since just started going full time ebay 2 months ago. Also I am saving any old tools from my garage that I may need and just storing them in my room. Should I grab the nails and screws? They are old so I dont know how reliable they are. I am also very self taught and am planning on taking a welding class and maybe a wood working class. When I need to make something i dont liketo just go to te store and buy things I like to just find stuff in my backyard and use them. I am also exercising buying something that is a future investment or something I will need in the future. For example ive knly bought a couple things but when I process my chickens