Tell me about your dog door

Discussion in 'Working and Companion Animals' started by Judy in IN, Jan 9, 2007.

1. Judy in IN

Judy in IN Well-Known Member Supporter

I'm planning on installing a dog door (actually two--one in the back door, and one in the breezeway wall) but I have no experience with them, and don't know the best brand to get. I picked up a Dog Fancy magazine, and of course, all of these are wonderful, according to their ads.

I'm looking for pros and cons opinions.

2. NCGirl

NCGirl Well-Known Member

[​IMG]

Door Open

[​IMG]

Door Closed

This is a Large Petsafe Door. It is plenty big for my 75 # German Shepherd. It is a Wonderful Thing!!

3. Judy in IN

Judy in IN Well-Known Member Supporter

So...how long have you had the door installed? Has it held up well? Now, just in case you didn't have GSDs, is it designed to keep out varmits?

4. cricket

cricket Well-Known Member

My dog door is a standard door...With a knob. Dogs can sometimes open it or lock it but they rarely, if ever, close it behind them...Same with the kids. I'm thinking about getting one that closes on it's own with some sort of hydrolic device. All kidding aside...I have danes so getting a doggie door is moot. I just simply couldn't resist.... :baby04:

5. NCGirl

NCGirl Well-Known Member

That door has been installed for about 12 years. Had a carpender put it in the wall for me. If you put it in a wooden door you could probably do it yourself. I did replace the flap once as a puppy chewed it up. Otherwise I have not had any problems.

I guess anything that could figure out how to push it open could come in, but I have never had it happen. You can close it up when not in use and I usually do.

6. NCGirl

NCGirl Well-Known Member

A Dane could fit through the X-large size with no problem. They could probably go thru the size I have even though not at a dead run like my guys come thru it :rolleyes:

7. Jennifer L.

Jennifer L. Well-Known Member Supporter