Teeth...

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by MrsFarmerWilly, Jul 29, 2006.

1. MrsFarmerWilly

MrsFarmerWilly Well-Known Member

Several weeks back I found one of my female New Zealands had bit down on a wire in her cage trapping her in place when she couldn't work her teeth back out. It came down to freeing her took removal of her right upper front tooth. Now I notice that the bottom right tooth is protrubing from her lip. We looked at it yesterday and the right upper is coming back in. The left upper and lower are normal size. It is just the one tooth. What can I do? Any help you can offer will be much appreciated. This is my first try at raising rabbits and they have won over my heart so I want to take top notch care of them....in other words any other information you can offer will be appreciated also.
    Thanks
    MFW

2. Pat Lamar

Pat Lamar Well-Known Member Supporter

Well, this may take some time and there's no guarantee that it will work. It has, however, worked for some.

It will be important to handle your rabbit as much as possible. Every time you pick up the rabbit, apply some pressure on that bottom tooth to help force it back into place. Don't apply so much that it can break the tooth off, though.

Wishing you luck!

Pat Lamar
    President
    Professional Rabbit Meat Association
    http://www.prma.org/
    Chairperson, ARBA Commercial Department Committee

3. MrsFarmerWilly

The tooth is in alignment with the other lower tooth. It is just about a quarter inch longer than the other bottom. She hasn't been able to chew on that side due to the upper tooth having been removed. A new tooth is in, but I don't know what to do with the long one.

4. Pat Lamar

Don't know how acceptable this will be to you... we always used wire cutters to trim the teeth. Some prefer to use a drexal tool.

Pat Lamar

5. MrsFarmerWilly