Tall hoophouse?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by caryatid, Jan 9, 2005.

1. caryatid

caryatid Well-Known Member

Hi everyone!
    I'm new to this section of the board. (I usually hang out with the chickens)

I have a question about the hoop-green-house. All the plans I"ve seen are for a house that is 6 feet tall. I know that by making it a little more narrow at the bottom, I could get a few more inches at the top (in theory)- My question is, would that make the whole thing unstable?

The problem is, my hubby is 6'3".

I've never had a greenhouse before, and since the hoophouse looks easy to build, and inexpensive, I figured I could start off with one of those, and expand later.

Thanks!
    Dana

2. wy_white_wolf

wy_white_wolf Just howling at the moon

If you built a 2' wide 1' high raised bed around the perimeter you could set the hoop house on top of this and gain a foot. Make it wider you could even plant in it depending on how you want your greenhouse set-up.

3. caryatid

PERFECT!!
    I was rather tired last night and not thinking straight. :)

What I really want to create is a greenhouse where I could remove the cover eventually and just turn it into one big grape arbor/patio area. Do you tihnk this would work? (For some reason I coulnd't articulate this last night)

Thanks!

4. Mike in Ohio

Mike in Ohio Well-Known Member

caryatid,

You can also lower the middle of the ground under the hoop. Either way, raising the base of the hoop or lower the ground are much better solutions than moving the bottoms closer together. You will be straining your frames by doing that.