Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have a ten acre hay field, and the hay man is doing a terrible job with it. I'm on the edge of converting it to pasture. It will be a while before I can afford enough good sheep fence to enclose the whole thing, so I need an animal that will respect electric fence that I can rotate over the field. I'm deciding between cows and goats.

In my more secure fences I have Cotswold sheep, I'm in my second year as a shepherd.

Cows respect electric well and have a good market if finished properly. They are going to require handling equipment I don't have yet.

Goats can be cared for with my existing sheep gear, just need another water trough, another mineral feeder, and different minerals, but they will need a more dense electric net fence than cattle, and they are pretty mischievous creatures.

So, I'm looking for pros and cons on goats for this situation.

·
Registered
2,080 Posts
Personally, I think you did an excellent job of defining the pros and cons!! We do not have and have never used electric fencing. We also do not have cattle. Perhaps someone who has will be able to give you additional direction, but you seem pretty up to speed to me. I guess I could add that goats are cuter and very funny...but then you know that, too...LOL.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Our goats respect electric (five strand) very nicely - the baby tested it for about a week, but they don't even try any more. Don't tell them, but I turn it off when I'm out there (my tiny human helper does NOT respect the fence) all the time and they don't even try to get out. :) It depends on the goats!

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
Discussion Starter #4