Taking a tire off ?????

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Patty0315, Jul 21, 2004.

1. Patty0315

Patty0315 Well-Known Member

I am trying to take a tire off a car . I took off the hub cap and bolts jacked it up and its stuck. I sprayed some wd40 around the bolts and have banged the sh** out of it . Any tips other than getting a mans strength ?? Thanks ~ Patty

2. SHELBY

SHELBY Well-Known Member

You took of the lug nuts..right :haha: just kidding..... What I do is take the all mighty sledge hammer and smack it a couple of times..

3. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

And if that don't work, just get a bigger hammer.

4. fin29

fin29 Well-Known Member

Lurking female amateur here, but I have some experience on this one. Sometimes when you take the lugs off, the holes where the bolts come through the wheel get hung up on the threads of the bolts that stick through. If you're trying to pull straight off, it seems like it's cemented there. If you lift 1/4" up and then straight off, it comes off like butter.

Boys, don't laugh at me if I misnamed something. :rolleyes: :haha:

5. Hogsubie

Hogsubie Well-Known Member

Sometimes a steel wheel can rust to the hub, whether it's disk or drum brakes. Get a sledge and give it a good whack towards the center of the wheel. Be careful to not bung up the studs or you won't get the lugnut back on. Also be careful and don't hit the rim either, as that could warp it and cause an air leak.

6. VonWolfen

VonWolfen Well-Known Member

I normally just stand with my back to the wheel and kick the bottom of the tire sidewall with my heel. I just got the mental picture of this poor lady with a 10 pound sledge with a full backswing.....this may be worth the price of admission!!
    When I nod my head, you hit it!!!!

7. Patty0315