Sweet Potato Education needed

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by vtfarma, Jul 23, 2004.

1. vtfarma

vtfarma Well-Known Member

Okay so I am a greenhorn when it comes to growing sweet potatoes. I got 25 plants from Burpees, the directions said to hill them but not to cover the flowers. These things are vines. What am I doing. I hilled them a few times as they grew taller but now they are running along the tops of the hills. THe next thing I expect is the potatoes to start growing on top of the soil. I have been gardening for years and have no clue right now on these things. What am I supposed to do with these? When do I dig? How much do I hill? Will they actually flower?

Thanks in advance.

Laurie

2. margo

margo Well-Known Member

I have only grown sweet taters one time, and am growing some this summer after finally locating some starts at a hardware/farm supply. So I am no expert in any way. Rookie all the way.
    I think you are doing okay here from the sound iof it. The vines will spread alot much like cukes or melon vines do. The potato will grow in the hill where you planted it. Since you hilled up around the start, they will be fine. I would wait about eight weeks or more (from planting date, that is.) and go back to the hill where you planted some, loosen the dirt, and feel for the potatoes, if they look about like how you imagine mature taters go ahead and dig. If they are fulll size, they will probably have already pushed the soil out of the original mound some because of the displacement. If you wish to let em go longer, cover them back up.