Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13,853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

Any suggestions on a reasonably priced/quality starter flute for my neice?

I purchased a used cheapie off ebay, that ended up with missing parts and other problems, so used is out, since I do not know what to look for.

We don't want to go off the deep end, in case she does not want to continue and we would upgrade if she did.

Marty

·
Registered
595 Posts
Back when I first got my flute my parents did rent to own from the local music store (I was in fifth grade) and when they saw that I was going to continue with it they then paid it off. I think they paid 400-500 for it. That was probably in '91? I played it until I graduated from high school. I still have it to this day but of course don't play it. I believe it was a Yamaha. I never wanted anything different, it did just fine for all those years. I will try and see exactly what brand and style it is when I drag out the Christmas decorations this weekend.

SARAH

·
Animal Addict
12,209 Posts
I was going to suggest renting/leasing it as well. Any music store should do this. I also think if she changes her mind you might be able to take it back for something different.

·
Premium Member
2,296 Posts
Yep, rent. See if the instructor will check it out for you. A bad or hard to play instrument will drive a dream away very quickly. Music has to be delivered and the delivery system must be capable of the job. :)

ps. good quality instruments appreciate in value

·
writing some wrongs
6,873 Posts
Ditto, rent it. What's more, we rented a used clarinet for my daughter - decent quality, but cheaper than new even as a rental. She did very well, so when she started her 2nd year in school band I paid it off.

Incidentally, I played clarinet in school band too and she's now better than I ever was. :)

·
Big Front Porch advocate
44,851 Posts