strawberry propagation

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by mtnmom208, Apr 5, 2005.

1. mtnmom208

mtnmom208 Well-Known Member

Last fall, my neighbor gave me the runners off of his incredible strawberries. I'm sure I have at least 50 babies. I was instructed to leave them on the runners and store them for the winter in moist sawdust where they wouldn't freeze.
    I am not sure how to best bring them out of this dormancy. Should I clean them up and plant them in stater pots first (indoors) or should I just put them directly outside in the strawberry bed. We will still have light freezes until the end of May. How resistant are they to frost? Do you think they survived the last 6 mos. with the method I used?
    Thanks, MtnMom

2. BeckyW

BeckyW Well-Known Member

I am assuming your strawberries are from another Idaho strawberry grower. While I'm pretty good on strawberries, I'm not a frost expert - so here's my best shot. You may want to check with your ag extension office for your local area.