Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone! i have a question about round bales as i am new to them. i have a horse and 6 goats and recently decided to try round bales, with hay prices way up due to the drought we had in N.H., it seemed like the best way to go. I had 3 of them stored underneath a pool cover which i now realize was overkill, it got hot and humid under the tarp and the outer layers of the round bales got white mold, they were only stored like that for a week and a half and i checked them a couple times and left for vacation for 5 days so i believe it was within that time frame they became moldy. i have moved them into a sunny area uncovered on pallets but i am unsure how to take care of the mold and i’m concerned it will spread, should i cut the netting off and peal off the moldy layer? then how will they store? i’m worried they will just fall apart without the netting and i’m not ready to use them yet. Thanks in advance.

·
Hello, hello....is there anybody in there.....?
77,647 Posts
Use pallets or boards on top to create an air space between the bales and the covering and leave openings at each end for circulation. I wouldn't cut the netting until you have them where you want to use them. Just keep them as dry as possible until then.

·
Be powerful. No other option exists.
38,460 Posts
Never feed moldy hay to goats.

·
Registered
974 Posts
Punch the ends of the bale with a fist, if it's tight enough to feel very solid, leave the hay uncovered and put it on pallets, when you feed it scrape off the top 1-2 inches, the rest will be good feed. If it's loose/soft when you punch it, find a new supplier, you are getting shorted. Seth

·
Registered
606 Posts
Never feed moldy hay to goats.