Stocking Food

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by JAK, Jul 4, 2006.

1. JAK

JAK Well-Known Member

I am new to this gig. It just occured to me that done right it will not only save money, but also time, and gas. I am a little slow, but I do eventually catch on. :)

I have an idea to stock food by month, rather than by item, but probably a combination of the two depending on how it is stored and how much. Also I have an idea to buy or harvest just a single item each week, but enough for the year, or as long as it can be stored if less than a year. This is where I think it might actually save time. In practice I suppose you would still have you eye out for several items at once to take advantage of the best opportunities. If it was all organized by the month then I could just move all the items for the month to the kitchen at the start of each month, or pehaps each week. I suppose if it was just stored separately you could just pick items for each bin at the start of each week, like shopping in you own basement. How do you do it, or how would you do it?

Are there any good links on how to shop, how to stock, and how much space you might need? I think traditionally here there were 3 types of storage. A pantry or larder for dry goods and preserves. A cool but less dry storage like a root cellar, for root vegetables mostly. Finally a freezer, but that really came much later or was only done in winter, which is also when most hunting was traditionally done, other than fowl. Today I suppose it could all be in the same room, which could be a root cellar or a room in the basement, but with different climatic zones for different types of storage. Sealed containers help also. How much room is need for a family of three?

2. LagoVistaFarm

LagoVistaFarm Well-Known Member

3. Mid Tn Mama

Mid Tn Mama Well-Known Member Supporter