Sterilizing starting/planting mix

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by amelia, Feb 4, 2005.

1. amelia

amelia Well-Known Member

I've been starting seedlings for a couple of years now and find that the cost of sterilized commercial seed starter and planting mix can add up. I've seen various recipes for homemade mixes, but with all the warnings about using only sterilized stuff, I'm wondering how you get it that way. I tried sterilizing soil one time in the oven and won't do that again! I'm thinking maybe some kind of solar oven? I'd be grateful for any of your ideas.

2. kathrynlmv

kathrynlmv Well-Known Member

3. kathrynlmv

4. Mid Tn Mama

Mid Tn Mama Well-Known Member Supporter

Put your dirt in a container with holes on the bottom. Pour boiling water in it and saturate the soil. Let it drip out. When drained, put in containers that have been washed with bleach or sterilized with boiling water. You can plant seeds in damp soil, then cover so the moisture stays in the container. When you get seedlings, take off cover. Then water with diluted chamomile tea to avoid damping off.

5. moonwolf

moonwolf Well-Known Member

I never had much problem using a mix of mostly fine peat, vermiculite, and a small proportion of finished compost.
    Whenever I reused trays from the previous year, I would disinfect those.

Note of caution: Microwaving peat trays can be a fire hazard. I realized this once after thinking I had sterilized a 6 x 8" peat tray for a few minutes by microwaving. Then I put it outside to cool, and the wind made it burst into flames. :eek:

6. greenguy

greenguy Member