Staying off the employment grid

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Caitedid, May 3, 2005.

1. Caitedid

Caitedid The Prairie Plate Supporter

Looking for any ideas of ways to stay off the main-stream employment grid... I've been volunteering and doing odd-jobs for the last 3 years, off and on, and i really like the off better than the on. Because I'm a full-time student, I can't be as self-sufficient as I would like. I don't require a large income, because of financial aid, but I need something to put on the resume ( I guess), and something legal to provide some pocket money. Any ideas?

2. Terri

Terri Singletree & Weight Loss & Permaculture Moderator Staff Member Supporter

On your profile, I see that you are an animal science major. Perhaps you would like to try beekeeping?

If you cannot keep them where you live, you might want to put them at a farmers or a market gardeners place.

On the DOWN side, it takes a year for a hive to produce excess honey. On the UP side, you can divide most hives every year, so you end up with a stock that can double yearly on top of annual honey sales.

Do you live where you can have a big garden? You could sell veggies at the local farmers market. A little experience in sales is a very fine thing if you are going into a field where most businesses are small businesses.

Does your school allow animal projects? A fellow student when I was younger had a pig on campus at the animal unit. Her project was to raise it, breed it, and sell the piglets. Perhaps you could talk them into a chicken tractor project?

A gent wrote a book about low-risk ranching. He rented vacant land, put growing cattle on it in the spring, and sold them in the fall. He rented the land between his home and his job, so he drove by them twice a day and he could check on them easily.