State to State Moving Companies

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by perennial, Mar 30, 2005.

1. perennial

perennial Well-Known Member

Do you recommend any in particular?

thanks,

brural

2. Mandy

Mandy Well-Known Member

Yes, move yourself. I work in the storage and truck business, we rent Penske trucks, and we have heard nightmare stories of state to state moves with moving companies. So I would recommend doing it yourself.

Mandy

3. That is a tricky question. It's not so much about the company itself but what driver you happen to get. The driver of the truck is usually the one who loads your furniture up on his truck. There are good drivers who know how to load a truck to keep your funiture safe. If you have a item damaged you can file a claim and receive reinbursement for that item. If you load and transport it yourself you are the one responsible for any damage and most people don't know how to load furniture to keep from getting scratches, gouges, and scuffs. Plus most people don't know just how to load a trailer and be able to get everything you own in it. Professional drivers have a lot of tricks up their sleeves. Ask for a driver with several years experience.

How do I know this? My dad drove for American Van lines for 14 years and Wheaton Van lines for 16 years. I spent a lot of my childhood summers traveling with him and helping out.

4. perennial

thanks for your answers.

Doing it ourselves it NOT an option. With a full size house, family, basement and shed we need an 18 wheeler. We are going to leave all junky furniture
    behind and only take the best, so it needs to be packed and loaded as rh said.
    Most everything i will pack will be in bins. Renting a truck ourselves will be very expensive in the end because we will have to make so many trips, gas and sanity.

My realtor mentioned mayflower moving company as one she has seen a lot of
    places around the country.