Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I sold my 3yo boer buck about a week and a half ago.The lady who got him called today and said he was staggering?Said she gave him banamine and mineral oil till she can take him to the vet tomorrow.I have had no experience with any thing like this.She mentioned deer worm as a lady near her has had a few cases of this.He has always been my healthiest goat and I cannot think of what it could be.He was wormed about 4 days before he left not because he needed it but as a precaution against the stress of moving.Any suggestions? I would hate for her to loose this guy as he is a very nice buck with good bloodlines.She is a poster on this board so maybe when she gets home from work she can add some more information.

·
Registered
805 Posts
Some many illnesses can look like other illnesses.

Some things to check for that have similar symptoms in the beginning stages are:

1) tetanus
2) listeriosis
3) parasites

With meningial worm, you will see intense itching.

First, look at the eyes. If they have pink membranes, the parasite load is probably OK.

Second, the neurological symptoms need to be watched carefully as this is where it gets important to look for slight differences.

With Listeria, the animal will stagger and begin to lose motor control. You will begin to see the left side of the face begin to go slack and the left eye begin to roll around aimlessly. They generally do not want to eat.

If the face and eye are doing well, the swallow reflex and desire to eat is still there, but they are getting worse with motor control, think tetanus.

It may take upwards of 48 hours to really see the difference, but treatment for the two is still the same, with the exception of the anti-tox for the tetanus until we were sure. We began the Pen and B-complex immediately, which probably saved their lives.

We have saved two goats from tetanus- our protocol as per our vet was -