Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been researching sprouts and fodder systems for several years. I've conducted numerous tests on sprouting feeds for animals. The more I read, especially studies on fodder, the more it appears that the best thing to do is to sprout no longer than 4 days, rather than go all the way to fodder.

I know this is a debated issue on this forum, but I haven't seen a good explanation of the process, including the math.

People talk about the dry matter loss in fodder, and certainly, it paints a bad view of fodder. But, when you actually do the math and include the digestibility figures, the picture changes a bit. Seeds do lose DM when sprouted to 8 days, but at the beginning of the sprouting process, there is a gain of DM.

Look at this document: http://www.qcl.farmonline.com.au/files/48/20/01/000012048/Hydroponicfodder.pdf

It brings up some really good points about fodder and sprouts. Fodder at 8 days is 15% dry matter, 85% water. So, if you took 1 lb of grain and grew fodder with it, you get 6 lbs of fodder. But, that 6 lbs of fodder has only .9 lbs of actual feed, the rest is water.

The original grain is 90% DM, so about .9lbs of feed. Whole grain is 40% digestible, but ground grain is close to 75% digestible. Ground grains do lose nutrients the longer they sit, so it is best to grind the grains right before feeding to get the most nutrients (and most of these tests use freshly ground grains for measurements).

Sprouts at 4 days have 80% dry matter, and usually about 2.5-3 lbs per pound of original grain. So, at 2.5 lbs, that is 2 lbs of feed (more than fodder and the original grain).

So, at first glance, fodder doesn't seem to add anything. But, then digestibility comes into it. Whole grain is about 40% digestible, Ground grain is about 75%, Fodder is 75%, and 4 day sprouts is 85%.