Soybean spray?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by mammabooh, Jul 25, 2005.

1. mammabooh

mammabooh Metal melter Supporter

Anybody know of any funk that is killing animals in Ohio right now? The farmer recently sprayed the soybeans, so I'm figuring that's what's doing it. So far, there are three adult and one baby muscrat dead and two very sick groundhogs in the area (I shot and killed one of them this evening). This is all within three or four days. Any ideas?

2. rambler

rambler Well-Known Member Supporter

You have no idea, so you blame the farmer?

City slickers. Sheez.

--->Paul

3. mammabooh

Oh, you gotta be kidding...I am a farmer...come from generations of farmers and have over one hundred acres waiting for me when we move back to Ashland! However, I only have two acres right now. I just think it is awfully suspicious that some stuff is sprayed and then bunches of animals (that spend lots of time in the gully of the field) start ending up dead.

Anyone have some real answers for me? Perhaps some new spray that just came on the market?

P.S. I didn't call any of my family last night to ask this because I figured they were already in bed...since they are farmers.

4. mammabooh

Just talked to my dad. He said it was probably Round-up that got the muscrats. He wasn't sure about the groundhogs, but I know there are several groundhog holes in the field, so perhaps it's getting them too. While I'd prefer that to some wide-spread disease, I still don't want to be breathing that junk in or letting my chickens out there to suffer from it! And, now I would imagine that the pond and creek (which are created by run-off from the field) are toxic too. Just lovely.

5. travlnusa

travlnusa Well-Known Member