Some advice please...what did I mess up?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by ChickenMom, Aug 27, 2006.

1. ChickenMom

ChickenMom Well-Known Member

I have a second freshener doe that is part Alpine and part no one knows. Last year we left her kid on her until she weaned him. This year I decided to milk her. I have been milking her once a day (morning) for the last 3 months. 3 days ago we finished our buck pen so we put her whether in with the little buck (they are close to the same age). I figured since he was 3 months old he could be weaned. The next day I started milking twice a day and everything went well. Yesterday I milked morning and night and got about 2/3 the amount of milk. This morning I went out and her bag wasn't even tight, I got 1 1/2 cups milk, I usually get 4 cups or a little over. Could this be because I took the kid away, or was he already starting to wean and I only need to milk in the morning?

She eats grain, alfalfa pellets, a little corn, good hay, browse, and has fresh water, minerals and soda.

What am I doing wrong?

2. chamoisee

chamoisee Well-Known Member

She's stressed out, and he probably has been gradually weaned off. You could try increasing her feed (primarily giving her all she wants of alfalfa hay) and milking her 3 times a day until her production picks up....if she is a decent milker she should increase somewhat. Also, are you getting ALL the milk out?

3. ChickenMom

This morning she wouldn't eat at all, I gave her some ProBios and vitamin B. She was eating browse but wouldn't eat grain this morning on the stand. I go back out at 7 to feed again, should I try to milk or just leave her till morning?

4. ChickenMom

I milked last night and got 2 cups, she did not eat her grain yesterday at all. This morning she has soft poo. This morning when I milked I got almost 2 cups. Her bag is about 1/3 the size it normally would be when I go out to milk and it is never tight anymore.