Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently saw a show on the DIY channel where they powered a small shed using a solar system. For some reason that idea had never entered my mind. I need power in my shed for a few lights, a compressor, and some tools and a radio. Can this be done without costing a small fortune? Other than charging batteries, I have no solar experience. I would like to find a complete package but I can easily build it from assorted parts if necessary.

Ken in Glassboro, NJ :)

·
Registered
9,621 Posts
Powering the lights and radio would be easy enough, the compressor is going to take a lot of electricity. What is your budget for this project? I know Harbor Freight sells mostly cheap junk, but they have had a 'solar light kit' for a few years now, basically two small panels and a charge controller.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
greg273 said:
Powering the lights and radio would be easy enough, the compressor is going to take a lot of electricity. What is your budget for this project? I know Harbor Freight sells mostly cheap junk, but they have had a 'solar light kit' for a few years now, basically two small panels and a charge controller.
I was planning to run power from the house which would have required quite a bit or wiring and probably an upgrade to the house panel as well. The compressor needs a 15 amp, 120volt circuit. I have a light in their now but could easily change that. For the power tools and etc. I figure one to two more circuits depending conditons. The project I saw said they did the shed with a solar light and a 1750 watt inverter for about $800.

Ken in Glassboro, NJ :)

·
Master Of My Domain
7,220 Posts