Solar Power??

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by barnyardfun, Jul 1, 2006.

1. barnyardfun

barnyardfun Happy Homemaker Supporter

I am new to solar power and really don't understand a lot of it, but before I start talking to DH about it I wanted to get an idea of what something like this may cost......

I would like to go completly solar one day if possible. I run on the high side during the summer months of 1600kw per month. I normally only run about 800kw during winter months but those air conditioners really kill ya!

Can anyone give me ideas on what kind of system I would need (trust me I get plenty of sun where I am at) to run my whole house off solar and any ball park est. on how much it would cost??

Thanks for ANY info you can give me!!

Shawnna

2. canfossi

canfossi Well-Known Member

Hi Shawnna, I got a price from the company that will be installing my PV (photovoltaic) system and it was around $27,000 Can includes everything as well as installation. You won't be able to us any AC as well as electrical ranges with a PV system and will have to seriously cut back on your energy consumption. A propane stove will be required for solar as well as possible a propane fridge. Google PV systems or off-grid power, you should get some good info. Hope this helps, I'm kind of new to this also. Chris

3. cfabe

cfabe Well-Known Member

Going solar when you are already grid ties does not make financial sense. Typically people using solar use it because the cost of getting grid power is extremely expensive, and those that do go solar adjust their lifestyle to minimize power use. Forget things like air conditioning, electric range, space heaters etc.

4. Lisa in WA

Lisa in WA Formerly LisainN.Idaho Supporter