Solar Need calcuations

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by angus, Dec 13, 2005.

1. angus

angus Somewhere in Oklahoma

I'm still pretty new to the Solar/Wind idea so please bear with me ...

Assuming you used candles/Solar Lamps/Kerosene for Lighting, and were pretty much using only :

1) Washing Machine
    2) Refrigerator
    3) Microwave
    4) HotPlate
    5) Small Computer

No TV, No Dryer, No Dishwasher, No HairDryer, No Oven ...

and assuming you lived in an area that gets reasonably good solar resources ( west central Oklahoma ), could you conceivably get by with $10,000-$20,000 for an "off-grid" setup???

2. JAK

JAK Well-Known Member

1) Washing Machine - it would be fun to make one
    2) Refrigerator - save energy by adding insulation but keeping the coils cool
    3) Microwave - yeah I can see that
    4) HotPlate - you can also use a 3 wick candle or an alcohol stove
    5) Small Computer - a notebook and lcd screen will save on power and often come with a feature that they come right back where you left off without having to reboot.
    6) Small electric lights should also be available also for convenience.
    7) A battery charger for small batteries is good also.
    8) You should also have a small heater that only switches on to dump load to when there it too much power being generated and/or the batteries are charged. You should have an alarm also, so you can do some laundry or something that will use power.