soil test result questions

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by fransean, Nov 7, 2006.

1. fransean

fransean Well-Known Member

I just got my results in the mail and although I read them I am a little confused since I have no experience with this :shrug:

I told them I wanted to plant fruit trees (that is my first goal).
    These are the numbers and the recommendations:

soil pH 5.3
    Lime index 69.0
    Phosphorus 106
    Potassium 41
    Magnesium 29
    Calcium 228
    CEC 2.7

Limestone 2ton/A
    Nitrogen 50lb/A
    Potassium 170lb/A

There was also a message stating that magnesium tests low - broadcast 50-100 lb Mg/acre or 1-2lb Mg per 1000 sq ft
    There was another message recommending the lime because the soil is "weekly buffered"

From the county:
    the general recommendation include applying 2tons dolomitic lime per acre (100 lbs per 1000 square feet)
    if planting new trees (yes) before planting apply 170lbs 0-0-60 fertilizer per acre (4lbs per 1000 square feet)

Okay, I was reading in a library book "Backyard Orchardist" and trying to make sense of this information. I wanted to plant in the spring bare root fruit trees. Am I going to have to add this and wait another season or until fall to plant or can I plant right away ............
    Where do I find a source of this? Can I find the lime and fertilizer in a small town? Or should I plan on bringing some from the city? That seems like a lot of lime! Should I just then add it to the general area that I plan on planting my first batch of trees (I will add more later).

I am asking a lot of questions because I have never planted fruit trees before and I really want to give them the best start that I can.

Thanks
    Bev

2. rwinsouthla

rwinsouthla Well-Known Member Supporter

What state are you in? I know a bit confused, but what state in the United States? Hope this helps. Ray

3. fransean

fransean Well-Known Member

Yes, thanks that is helpful :)