Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,944 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new at the soap making thing and need some help.... i guess lots of help any way i made my first batch of goat milk soap and wow what a disaster lye solution everywhere!! big chunks .... you name it ... well any way i tried again and every thing went better but now I'm read to take out of mold now what cut and dry or do i have to rebatch this ...
when can i add color and or smells to the soap??
any anybody have good recipes to help a beginner out, keep in mind I'm true beginner and need things spelled out like for a 3 year old.... :1pig:

·
Registered
913 Posts
If the second batch turned out ok, then I see no reason to rebatch it. What recipe did you use? I can give you tips on how to improve it if I know your recipe.

You asked when to add color and scent. Well, that should happen before you pour it, unless you made this soap specifically to rebatch it. In that case rebatch sooner rather than later because it is easier when the soap is soft.

You can use goat's milk in pretty much any recipe instead of the water. I find that the best way to do it is to pour the GM into ice cube trays and then weigh out the same amount of GM ice cubes as the recipe calls for water. Add your lye to the frozen goat's milk slowly. I often do this in ice water bath, to keep the GM from turning orange. It's not the end of the world if it does turn orange but you will end up with a lighter colored soap if you prevent it. Also if it scorches a bit (turns orange) it will have a funky smell for a couple of weeks. Also, not the end of the world.

The chunks in your lye solution you mentioned in your first batch were probably the milk fat in the GM saponifying, or turning to soap. Do you use a stick blender when you soap? If so the chunks will be blended out when you add the lye milk to the fats.

·
Registered
5,944 Posts
Discussion Starter #3