Small town values alive and well....

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Loumeister, Jun 18, 2006.

1. Loumeister

Loumeister Member

Hello Everyone,

I'm kind of new to the country life, actually not quite there yet, but getting closer. About a year ago, we bought 100 Acres just south of Canton,Ohio. It's buetifull, and was intened as kind of a vacation / weekend place, but on Sunday's when it's time to head back home I really don't look forward to leaving at all. Anyway, it's about 10 Minutes away from the closest town, and last weekend when we were working on some stuff, I had to head into town and pick up some pipe fittings and other plumbing stuff. I go to pay and realize this little store doesn't accept credit cards, and I'm standing there with this dumb look and the $5 i had in my wallet, about $20 short of what I need. The lady behind the counter says to me " are you bit short" as she can see me looking through my wallet, and the at the sign that says "no credit cards", I say yes. I almost fell over at what she said next. She pulls out a notebook, and asks me to write my name down with the amount that I would owe, I ask her if she wants to see my license and she just smiles and say "No, I trust you". She may have seen me in there once before a few months ago, but I doubt she remembered it, and she just extended me $20 of credit without even knowing my name. Needless to say, I took care of it this weekend, and was still thinking it is great to know that these kinds of places still exist. Anyone else ever see anyhting like this firsthand. I've lived in the city all my life, and this was something straight out of Mayberry for me. I love the country lifestyle....

Loumeister

2. minnikin1

minnikin1 Shepherd

What a nice post!
    Yes, a similar thing happened to us when we moved to the small town life.
    One freezing evening our furnace croaked off...