small scale composting

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by muggin_girl, Apr 21, 2005.

1. muggin_girl

muggin_girl Active Member

Now i could be losing my mind....according to some it has been gone for awhile now :D but I swear I had a friend who lived in an apartment that did composting in a rubbermaid container, on of the small ones. Could I do this with one of the bigger ones? How would I start it? What are the rules? Can I take worms out of the garden, which are pretty tiny right now, or should I go buy some juicy ones? Help me please.....trying to get down to one bag of garbage a month!

2. hollym

hollym Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert (YET!) but I've been reading up on this and you can have worms in a rubbermaid container and feed them a pound of garbage a day. There is a book called 'Worms eat my garbage', I haven't read that one, but have another one and just checked out a big one about raising them on a larger scale.

You need drainage, bedding, and a container that is aerated, but lidded to keep out flies. Check out gardenweb.com they have a whole section dedicated to vermicomposting.

Good luck!
    hollym

3. cwgrl23

cwgrl23 Chief Vegtable Grower :) Supporter

The best composting worms are red wiggler worms. These can be found at most bait shops. They do a better job of composting than the average garden earth worm.

4. mamabear

mamabear Well-Known Member