Six weeks premature...and not doing well today

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Tango, Jul 30, 2006.

1. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

Not an expert, just a newbie with some experience with scouring and weak calves. On mother's milk I suppose she got colostrum? Is the scours watery? Barring the premature part which I have no experience with, I suggest using kaopectate (or Kaolin Pectin at feed store) to stop the scours. If it doesn't stop with kaopectate, it will stop with immodium liquid (don't use immodium if you think the scours is anything but a digestive upset, immodium will kill a calf with other types of scours). If she gets too weak to suck you will have to tube her. Don't wait to tube like I did. I was afraid to learn but there is a tube will a bulb on the end that makes it impossible to tube into her lungs. Dehydration is the number one cause of death in very young calves. Get electrolytes (probably more important than milk right now)in her and stop the scours. Good luck with Missy. I don;t know what her chances are but at least she has someone giving her individual attention.

2. tyusclan

tyusclan Well-Known Member

Stop giving her milk, and try to get some gatorade in her to keep her hydrated. If you can find a feed store open today, get some scour tablets and get her started on them. It usually will stop it pretty quickly. If you can't do that try to get some Pepto-bismal or Kaopectate into her. Once you get the scours under control you can start back with milk, but be careful not to overfeed. You don't mention breed or size, and that's going to determine how much milk she will need and can tolerate once you start back.

3. cowgirlracer

cowgirlracer Well-Known Member

Wyoming & building a homestead in Kentucky