Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 1 of 563 Posts

· Premium Member
1,356 Posts
Singletree Graduate and Newlywed Wedding story at

Hi Gang. Hope everyone had a great Christmas and that even those who were alone for the holiday did not find themsleves feeling lonely. I just celebrated my 43rd bd last weekend which seems impossibly grown-up, lol. Not sure whether I am immature or just young at heart, but I sure don't feel as old as that sounds. I am not big on New Year's resolutions, but looking back over events of the past year I realize that my biggest flaw is that I spend too much time taking care of other people and not enough time taking care of myself, so I have promised myself to remedy that during the coming year.

My vital stats are:
SWF, 5'1 1/2", 122 lbs., never married, no kids of my own, but have helped raise my late sister's two boys for the last 7 years (but no, we are not a package deal, lol). Non drinker, non-smoker, zero tolerance for drugs. Self-employed doing lighting for the entertainment industry and corporate/industrial theater. I work an average of one week a month away from home and the rest of my time is my own. I tend to hermit a bit when I am not on the road, my reward to myself for leaving the farm to go out in the world and work for $$$. I enjoy raising my chickens, worms, bees, tending to my few citrus trees, and banana and pineapple plantings. I grow a small garden which I hope to expand this spring. I love flowers and never seem to grow enough of them. I love dabbling in woodworking, mostly building bee hives and beekeeping gadgets- very rough, I am no craftswoman (yet), but I gain a lot of satisfaction from scavanging scraps from shows that I work on and turning them into something useful and productive. I have 2 cats whom I have spoiled rotten, no regrets there, and might someday like to have more animals when I am no longer traveling. I am an avid reader and love shopping garage sales and used book stores for books to read or sell on ebay. Some of my favorite authors are Gene Logsdon, Sue Hubbell, Virginia Lanier (mystery), and Joyce Stranger. I am interested in self-sufficiency and sustainable agriculture. I am a jeans and t-shirt type with little interest in fashion. I do enjoy cooking, canning/preserving food, and some other domestic pleasures. I have a 1954 Chevy p/up which I daydream of restoring someday, although I am not too mechanically inclined, so I may cave in and pay someone else to do it for me. But I think it would be a fine thing to have an old, restored pickup truck whether I do the work or not. I enjoy a morning walk or bike ride, swimming/diving on occassion, would love to go fishing if I had a friend to go with. I am not into television although I occasionally watch a video tape and I go out to the movies a couple of times a year (just saw the LOTR trilogy and enjoyed it enormously).

Would love to hear from others who have similar interests.

Happy New Year to all,

1 - 1 of 563 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.