Silver/Gold for dummies

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by suehi, Apr 19, 2006.

1. suehi

suehi Active Member

Silver/Gold for dummies How would you suggest a person new to investing in silver and/or gold go about it, especially if you have limited extra money to spend but would sacrifice some money for this purpose? I hope you can understand what I mean. Basically, I want silver/gold anything that will be worth something in harder times. Can or should I by things like gold or silver jewelry or the coins. As you can see, I have no knowledge about this subject. I just no and believe that it will be useful one day. I just need to know how to go about it. I am already working on stocking up on food etc. and learning as many skills as I possibly can. I know this will be of most importance in my book.

Suehi

2. crystalniche

crystalniche Well-Known Member

When I first started I went to tag sales in the better (more fluid cash) parts of town and bought up all the sterling silver jewelry that I could afford. I know that jewelry has a high markup but at tag sales you can get it pretty cheap. I got a whole bag of it at a church sale for $10 and there was over 6 ounces in that bag. If you watch your prices and compare them to the weight of the item rather than the jewelry value you should do ok. 925 is sterling but watch out for Mexican Alpaca silver as it is usually plated. Check on the bottoms of silver service at thrift shops and tag sales. I've found sterling spoons at a quarter each. When the slver prices went way up that time we took in a handful of silver and got over $100 for it. Not bad! We went twice to sell and were very pleasantly surprised.

3. frugalville

frugalville Well-Known Member

Easy investing...

90% junk silver (Pre-1964 US coins)- are 90% silver. You can buy at coin dealers, or the internet. Dimes, quarters, halves. Bars and 1oz mint coins carry a premium to the price of silver.