Silly question......

Discussion in 'Beekeeping' started by Balancedmom2003, May 13, 2004.

1. Balancedmom2003

Balancedmom2003 Well-Known Member

Ok, I have no experience with bees but I intend to do research and have a hive on my homestead. I was wondering if anyone who does keep hives uses the comb to make the wax candles? A lady I did buy honey from always sold "honeycomb candles" ......well that was interesting until I went to a local craft store where they sell sheets of the stuff..... I was wondering if it were possible to get this product from your own hive, if so, how difficult, etc..... I am gonna have to come and sit in with all you folks from NC and get info on beginning a hive!

Thanks,
    Michele

2. Queen Bee

Queen Bee Well-Known Member Supporter

First, no question is stupid! Second, are you talking about rolled candles or poured candles? Rolled candles are very easy to make, you just use the wax foundation that you order (taper the end if you want)and place a wick on the end and roll! Pour candles involve a lot more. You must first melt the wax, strain it until it is clean, heat it enough to pour into molds and then you will have to finish them (flat bottoms and clean sides), takes more time and skill. Debbie

3. Balancedmom2003

Hi Queen,

I have made the poured candles before and I have made the rolled candles. I was just wondering if it were possible to use the wax from the honeycombs, that the bees would supply, to create your own candles? You know, process it and make it into the sheets that could be rolled.

Thanks for getting back to me so fast!

Michele

P.S. I think we are close neighbors..... don't you live in Moore Co? I live in Harnett!

4. Mike in Ohio

Mike in Ohio Well-Known Member

Balancedmom2003,

It is possible to use the comb that the bees produce to make candles. You really don't want to take usable comb form the bees as it means they spend more time and energy making comb rather than producing honey, etc.