Sick Sunflowers?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Ditzyblond, May 18, 2004.

1. Ditzyblond

Ditzyblond Active Member

I was wondering if anyone knew anthing about sunflowers. I am growing my first patch of them ever and they have been going along fine until about 2 weeks ago. The bottom leaves started to look a bit crispy on the egdes and I figured it was from the sun because that week it was around 99/100 degrees. But now, the leaves are turning black and some have yellowed leaves with black streaky spots. On about 50% of my plants all the lower leaves have blackened and shriveled off. The tops of all of them (they dont have flowers yet) are very green and healthy. I have looked through my books and talked with some people I know and I cant figure out what to do for them. I am a novice gardener anyways.
    Any advice is appreciated.

2. suelandress

suelandress Windy Island Acres Supporter

Sounds like rust. Don't know if there's a cure. Did they start out brown and then blacken?

3. Ditzyblond

Ditzyblond Active Member

Well, they started out with crispy brown edged leaves that turned yellow and then got black streaks and then that got worse until the whole leaves turned black and shriveled up and fell off. The very top leaves are beautiful and healthy green and nearly all of the plants have some of this. Some more than others. The tall ones are doing better than the small ones. The small ones look like the stems are yellowing too now.

Its very frustrating to not have a clue what to do. I have been watering these things for a couple months now and they were starting to get really tall...... I was really looking forward to yummy sunflower seeds from my own grown sunflowers. Well, they arent dead yet.....

Could it be where I live? The southern Nevada desert isnt the easiest place to grow plants. Maybe they dont like the sun here. I do see people growing them in full sun though.