Sick Goat?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by cpft1, Mar 16, 2005.

1. cpft1

cpft1 New Member

Female, 9 years old, has little interest in grain or hay, drinks very little water. She is urinating very little and strains at the end of flow. I thought she had a urinary tract infection as there was some blood in urine. Gave her penicillin G, 3cc for one week. The blood was gone and she seemed better, but now is off food and water. Gave her probiotic paste. I am new to this and don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

2. Helena

Helena Well-Known Member

Do you have a local farm vet to call ?? Take her temperature if you can, and respirations before you call the vet. Call now before the day is over. Perhaps you can put her into the back seat of your car and drive her down to the farm vet this afternoon when they will usually show up at their office at the end of the day. Cheaper than a farm vet call. It really could be anything or nothing at all. But if she hasn't been well for a few days now...something is going on. I don't usually like to just "shoot them up" with anitibiotics if I don't know what is happening. Good Luck and let us know what is happening !!

3. Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians

Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians Well-Known Member

If you had a UTI would the doctor put you on pennicillin? Nope he would put you on those little white sulfa pills (SMTZ) and the vet will give you the same thing for your doe. 3cc is only enough pennicillin for a goat who weighs 50 pounds...how much does your doe weigh. With a UTI you would also be running a fever by the time you saw blood in your urine, what is your does temperature? Always take a temp, anything over 102 unless it's hot out and a herdmate is also over 102 (my black does will be normally 103 during the heat of the summer) than yes you have something going on.