Sick goat. . . .what do I do?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Croenan, Mar 13, 2005.

1. Croenan

Croenan Well-Known Member

I am new to babies too, but the "runnys" (scours) may be from coccidosis, read up on that and see if the symptoms fit.

You might try some a vit b complex and the probios, they may be stressed from the move. I would avoid the neomycin until you know what is ailing them. Have you wormed them? You probably should. You can use some ivomec 1% and give a tenth cc for every 10 pounds. You can round up on this if they are 27 pounds, give them .3 cc's. Ivomec doesn't overdose easily.

I know how stressful it is to be newer to goats and have one fall sick and not know what to do! (they are gonna ban me from posting soon because I ask so many questions!) :haha: Keep an eye on them, try the above and when you can give more symptoms post them again asking for help. I am sure someone else with more experience with young'uns will post soon.

Things to watch for:
    are they chewing cud
    loosing weight
    snotty noses-yellow? (clear is ok)
    raspy coughs
    are they drinking and eating
    peeing and how do their droppings look
    how are they moving...slow or normal?

If you can post more symptoms, someone else may have a better answer for you.

Hope that helped.
    Corrie Ann

2. rhjacobi

rhjacobi Well-Known Member

Hi allenslabs,

I don't know your area, or what is prevelant in your area, or where the goats came from. Auctions, for example, can subject the goats to everything that all the goats there may have. The stress of the move could have something to do with this, but we haven't found it to be as much of a problem as the infections, etc that they already have or pick up along the way. It could be from a change in diet also. Both babbies could still have the same thing. I would get some fecal samples tested as soon as possible. This will probably solve at least part of your problems.